Staffy in the yard: frustrations...

2 posters

Go down

Staffy in the yard: frustrations... Empty Staffy in the yard: frustrations...

Post by panini_84 Sun Apr 18 2021, 20:00

Hi all,

I'm having 'an issue' with my dog, which I would like to hear some opinions about. Is it really an issue, or is it not?
Why? Because it's my first dog and I am still learning every day, just like her.

Ok, some background info: After years of researching for the right dog, and having a baby girl (who is turning 4 this year), we decided to get a Staffordshire Bull terrier. A proper dog who looks good, with good human/kids skills, who has energy (to run with me when she is an adult) and is not too big (like an American Stafford).
After a waiting period we finally got our puppy last September. She is now exactly 7 months old.
She is a very excited dog, very eager to meet people and dogs (shows signs of submission to other dog frequently by lying on her back), goes to school to train her (and performs pretty good). Inside our house she listens very good, to me and my girlfriend and also my 3 year old daughter. On walks she behaves quite good: little pulling when alone, excitement pulling when crossing dogs or engaging people. We walk her 3 times a day for about 20-30 min each. Since we had her in September, she spent most of the time in our yard alone (to pee and poop) or to play with me or the girlfriend, because it was to cold for us to just hang out in the backyard. Now here comes the issue...

The actual 'issue': Since the weather is getting better, we spend more time outside, and my dog seems to find it hard to accept it that we just 'sit there'. She was always used to being played with when outside.